Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Arduino Controllers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve2md

I have no experience in building or programming Arduino, but I was thinking that a setup on one board, that had a temp controller set at 125deg F, AND a humidity controller/sensor set to 78%rh with simple 110v female plugs would solve a lot of kiln issues for people. then it would be a simple matter of plugging your warm mist humidifier and a small ceramic heater into the board, plugging the board into the wall, and walk away. You would only have to top off the water in the humidifier every so often, but otherwise, ZERO MAINTENANCE!!! Is there anybody here who could design a prototype of this?

johnlee1933

Founding Member
Let me check it out. The hard part for me would be the peripherals. (LCD display buttons for switching, etc) but it is a good idea and I believe would have uses beyond our needs. Depending on the sensors it could be made to work from 0 to 100 % RH and say -10 to +100°C with dual control limits RH/temp with an either/or/both selectability. It is my understanding that accurate RH sensors are difficult. I know a pro who does this stuff. I'll give him a call and see what he thinks. My guess is once you got a design working the Chinese would steal it and under sell you. You'd have to get set, sell a bunch and get out before the competition wiped you out.

John

Jitterbugdude

Founding Member
I believe someone on HTGT built one a year or so ago. My observation is that there are a lot of people that would have a problem wiring a light switch- this would be considerably harder. I personally think it would be easier to wire a Ranco thermostat and a humidistat for your kiln requirements.

Steve2md