Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Kaneo's Grow Log - NZ

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kaneo

To introduce myself I'm from sunny Hawkes bay in New Zealand, i see a few other Kiwis on here growing tobacco and it is interesting to read your grow logs. i am a little further north than Invercargil but probably have a similar climate to the waiarapa.

I'm new to growing tobacco - first year for me and I'm sure I will need plenty of advice on the way, I have struggled to find many varietys available in NZ so I have only started Virginia gold. My main interest is in cigars and I have tried to order some different varaitys from "Coffin Nails" website that seems to be UK based but I have not recieved these yet

I have an area of 12 metres x 4 metres without encroaching on the wifes backyard to much so will try to use this to my best ability.

I have added a grow log that I started for myself if people are interested, any helpful comments appreciated. i hope the pictures Ive added work and are not to big for what is normally accepted on the website

03/09/2012

Spring has finally arrived in the Southern hemisphere so it’s time to get down to the business end of growing tobacco.

I purchased my Virginia gold seed on Trade me prior to this, seems to be the only variety available to me in New Zealand?

I started my tobacco growing by cleaning out two 100 litre AR620 Aquariums. I had these from when I was doing tropical fish.
I purchased 2 x seed trays, 1 x 10ltr Yates seed mix and a misting spray bottle from Mitre 10
The Yates seed mix was placed into the trays. I poured in two inches of water into each aquarium and rested the seed trays into the water. I misted the surface of each tray and sprinkled the tobacco seed, the trays were misted again and the fluorescent tubes turned on.

stuff504.jpg

Note these are aquarium lights not pro growing lights or anything. I plan to have these on during the night to maintain warmth in the potting mix.