Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Question from a green horn

Status
Not open for further replies.

G-Chew

Ok I'm new at this and i understand that growing, curing, fermenting, and processing baccy is an art. I have grown, harvested, and air dried a crop of 70 plants for the last 2 years. I live in north Georgia so conditions for growing and are curing are great.
I now am ready to ferment and process my last 2 years crops.
I don't plan on planting this spring...I want to understand the next phased of the process before I grow anymore.

I know to use a humidifier or crock pot for moisture and a heater for temperature...inside a freezer or fridge to create the environment of 70-80% moisture at 120* F for 4 weeks...
Q#1: what would you men recommend for controlling the humidity and heat?

Q#2: I primed the 1st year crop and have it already in hands but the 2nd years crop I stalked. Is there a way to ferment the stalked baccy without having to bring it into case and put it into hands to hang? Can I just break it off the stalks and place it in a basket or mesh bag and place it in the kiln? Will it mold I I do that?

Q#3: after the fermenting process is complete how can I easily store the baccy? is it best to press it into bricks to store in the freezer?

I know all the answers to my questions can be found in this within the knowledge/experience of you fellow baccy artists...I would love your help...

G-Chew

Sorry yes I want to support my habit of chewing and not support the big guys...a plug style or a shredded style chew

Knucklehead

Founding Member