Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Recommend herbicide for weed control

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokeStack

Last year I used rolls of weed barrier between rows to control weeds and it did a great job. However, between plants I had a lot of weeds growing and some were very tall. I tried to control them by manually pulling them out, but, since I had a large amount of plants and very little time, I could not keep up with the weeding. I don't like to use chemicals (even though I'm a chemist) on my plants, but I need to find an easier and quicker way to control weeds. Is there an herbicide that I can use between tobacco plants without killing the tobacco plants? Or is there an herbicide that I can apply before I transplant seedlings to the field?

Knucklehead

Founding Member
Use landscape cloth on your rows. Cut an X and put in a plant every three feet. It allows water to pass through.

Boboro

Yes, Its a preemerge You till it in a mounth before plantin. Its made for home gardens but I forget the name. Its in my last years log if you can wade through the nonsence.

Jitterbugdude

Founding Member
Full strength acetic acid does the trick. It works best if you spray the plants when they are in full sun. Some of the Ag supply places around me sell the stuff. The lesser strength stuff "vinegar" at only 3% is way too weak to kill weeds. It is not nearly as effective as Roundup, but it does work.

Lancaster Agriculture Products sells it as "White Vinegar (200 grain) CFU" for $8.59/gallon or $115.00/15 gallons
717-687-9222

Not sure what shipping would be, it might have to ship "hazardous"

Michibacy

Northern tobacco grower
Organic, fat reducing herbicide. Dirty-hands.jpg
If you're not that motivated ;) use the landscape fabric previously mentioned. I try and stay away from herbicides as much as possible when dealing with consumable products

istanbulin

Founding Member