Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

"Evil scientist" of Tobacco

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eliko

I'm a Botany Student and I am trying to combine traits of different tobacco plants to get multiple varieties to have the same traits they have now (flavor and the like) but to get the most leaf matter per plant and allow them to grow in soil types from mostly sand or clay to good rich compost and everything in between. In short I want to get some tobacco that produces a lot and can grow is just about any soil type.

I plan on growing everything indoors with grow lights in a variety of different soils and doing this by trying to clone traits from the best samples I can get so if anyone knows any varieties that are known for large or more than normal leaf matter per plant or strains that grow even in poor soil please let me know and if anyone would have some extra seeds from said strains and wouldn't mind sharing it would be a big help since college student = broke.

thanks much for your time and hope I get to talk to you all.

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
You may successfully optimize and stabilize one attribute in an intensive development program over about 7 years (typical for agricultural research station tobacco varietal development). It's not exactly a semester-length project.

Bob

EDIT: I really don't mean to sound discouraging. Give her a try. But be prepared for a lot of work, disappointment and unsure outcome.

Jitterbugdude

Founding Member
I'd be interested if you could cross a filler with a binder and a wrapper. That way I can just grow one type of plant for my cigars.....:D

johnlee1933

Founding Member
I'd be interested if you could cross a filler with a binder and a wrapper. That way I can just grow one type of plant for my cigars.....:D