Whole Leaf Tobacco
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Starting Seed Late

Sometimes someone comes to the group this time of season or later and wonders if they can still plants some tobacco with success. I've been growing tobacco in MO for the last 7 years and I can tell you heartily, yet you can still start.

What I have found that works well for me is to start them in flats outside.

You simply put individual seeds on one of those 72 cell starters in each cell, just a couple. Put them in the east where they get morning sun but under the eaves of the house so they don't get pounded by rain before they start sprouting. Don't worry about putting the dome on.

You're going to want to get a sprayer with a mister setting and mist the tray first thing in the morning and if possible once they are in the shade. If they have to wait till you get home from work it's still doable.

Once they start sprouting if you have two or more seedling in a cell cut them down to one. Once they are 2"+ high transplant them into some soil you've already worked up making sure the ground is real loose for the roots to quickly spread out.

You may want to look on craigslist for people wanting to get rid of rabbit poop. Rabbit poop isn't hot and can go directly on the soil around the plants.

Good luck and God bless!
    Luke 22:36

Re: Starting Seed Late

I believe that in cooler regions, the problem that arises with late planting is the unfavorable weather conditions during the time that you are attempting to color-cure the leaf. Assuming a rapid germination and time to transplant of only 4 weeks (which I consider optimistic), you will need an average of 55 to 65 days to get to a point when you have usable leaf. To make seed will require at least another month of above freezing weather.