Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Going to make some dip!

Status
Not open for further replies.

RyanM22

Picked up a sample pack of some Yellow Twist Bud, Virginia Bright Leaf, Black Mammoth, and Connecticut Shade leaf from Michibacy. This is my first time dealing with whole leaves and am going to try my hand at making some long-cut, all natural dip.

I haven't opened the bag yet, so am unsure what flavors I am going to use. One thing I have to be mindful of is mold, as I am going to keep the finished product at room temp (the warmer months will be a different story).

My question is, what are some ingredients to add to help stave off mold growth? In another thread I saw Jitterbugdude (I believe) recommend cinnamon, but I'm not too sure how a cinnamon dip would taste.

squeezyjohn

Cinnamon flavoured oral tobacco works nicely for me - but you would have to like the taste of cinnamon. I use cinnamon essential oil rather than the powdered spice for flavouring as it has less of that dusty spice taste to it.

The way I stop my batches moulding is normally to cut the tobacco how I want it in a low case and store it in sealed jars until I want to make a batch big enough for up to one month's supply. Tobacco in that form just continue to age without moulding.

If I was to make a big batch all at once I would store the excess by freezing it after vacuum sealing the container it's in. Defrosted dip or snus is always fine for me and stores for at least 2 years.

Good luck!

Jitterbugdude

Founding Member
Add a small amount of glycerine. It will help to prevent mold and adds to the "mouth feel" of the tobacco. Additionally, use Xylitol or a non caloric sweetener. If you use sugar (or honey, molasses etc) it will grow mold like crazy.

RyanM22