Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

The most fragrant Oriental?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Planter

In your experience, what´s the most fragrant Oriental variety? (Still looking for another one to grow this year.)

Ben Brand

In my limited experience in oriental, I would say Bursa. But like I said very limited experience. I am sure members like Deluxestogie will give you the right answer.

LeftyRighty

Founding Member
I quit growing Ottoman because it was just too perfume'y - even a small amount mixed in the blend was noticeable.

Jpcouling

I think Xanthi Yaka is incredibly aromatic and tastes very strongly of the classic Oriental note! I have limited experience with Turkish, but the Yaka was noticeably the most fragrant.

Planter

What orientals do you already have?

So far I´ve grown Xanthi, Baffra Basma and Tik Konlak.

In the pipe, pure Baffra Basma smells very similar to freshly lit Rattray´s Red Rapparee, but much more pronounced. The few Xanthi I sampled is more like Robert McConnell´s "Original Oriental", sort of a good Virginia with Oriental overtones. While the unlit leaves of the former two don´t smell that much, Tik Konlak leaves tend to release a distinct odour right from the early stages of the (air) curing process. Its smoke reminds me of Indian incense sticks, and leaves quite a ghost in the pipe. That really got me curious.

Jitterbugdude

Founding Member
The answer to your question is open to quite a bit of speculation. I've smoked close to a dozen Turkish varieties and have a few that I think are very aromatic. The interesting thing though is that when I smoke the ones I think are aromatic no one has ever commented about the lovely smell. When I smoke others I universally get a "That smells really good what is it" response.
So here are a few that bystanders tell me are very fragrant

Tekkekoy
Bucak
Canik ( if I remember correctly, it's been a few years)
Smyrna