Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

The Florida Newbie: Planning Stage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dunning

Well, the seeds have not even arrived but I thought I'd start my own grow blog by setting out my thoughts, goals and intentions. If it's a bit premature and longwinded feel free to skip by it, but if you have any thoughts or comments, I'd love to hear them.

Who: I'm a Central Florida amateur gardener who likes planting exotic and productive things around an average-size residential yard. I have a vegetable garden (with Anaheim chilis, sweet potatoes, collards and okra in it during the summer) and am growing some future trees in pots including kaffir lime, curry leaf, tamarind, cocoa. I have some standard herbs on the sides and in some pots (basil, thyme, rosemary). It was really this inclination to grow interesting things that lead me to look at getting a few tobacco plants growing. That and the fact that I do smoke a pipe a bit off and on (though not for a while until recently).

What: Per a suggestion from the group I ordered some seeds from http://northwoodseeds.com/, choosing the Pipe Blend containing 401 Cherry Red, Burley 21 and Black Sea Samson seeds. I've also ordered the Thuoc Lao seeds now renowned from the http://fairtradetobacco.com/threads/3986-Thuoc-Lao-seeds thread. This is far too many seeds for the space I have and I'll slowly thin down to perhaps 2-3 of each to put around the yard. I'm thinking two to put in different locations and see them grow, with the vague and perhaps unrealistic goal of pulling them out and curing them somehow, someday (a project to consider later). Then one of each to see if I can keep it as an perennial--having learned that they are in fact basically a perennial Caribbean plant hijacked for other purposes and locations.