Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Hi everyone, new smoker, soon to be grower

Status
Not open for further replies.

tempbond

I've been smoking cigars regularly for about 2 years now and I want to try and grow my own tobacco and roll my own cigars.
I know it won't be easy, but with a bit of help from you guys, sure it'll be fun !

I already have 2 seed varieties and 5 more on the way, gonna start seeding indoors soon.

Just need some advice : is it ok to post info or ask about vendors of seeds and whole leaves or is frowned upon ?

Thanks !

By the way, I'm from south western Quebec, Canada.

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
Welcome to the FTT forum, tempbond.

No frowns here. Post away.

I've been smoking cigars (far too many) for the past 40+ years. These have encompassed the best in the world, including whole boxes of Havanas of various brands (I lived overseas while in the military). While I won't claim that my home-grown, home-rolled cigars are the best of all of those, I will say that I'm quite happy with what I've made myself.

A kiln is a must for cigar leaf, so you'll need to look into the possibilities before next autumn. Mine (based on a Crockpot in a box) cost ~$25 to build, plus another $25 for an optional digital thermometer/hygrometer.

Learning to roll cigars, for me, required about 30 individual tries before they were consistently smokable. You can get about 5 to 8 corona-size cigars per tobacco plant, so plan accordingly.

What varieties are you planning to grow this season?

Bob

Jitterbugdude

Founding Member
Just need some advice : is it ok to post info or ask about vendors of seeds and whole leaves or is frowned upon ?

Thanks !

By the way, I'm from south western Quebec, Canada.

Normally it's perfectly OK to ask/post about vendors etc. but you being from Quebec... I dunno know???... all kidding aside, this is a pretty open minded forum, so ask away and post away
Randy B

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member