Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Canadian vs American cigarettes

Status
Not open for further replies.

ringanator

OK question I am a newbie grower just ordered my first batch of Canadian virgina tobacco seeds. I am a Canadian and smoke Canadian cigarettes and don't care for the taste of American cigs my question is dose cureing/ fermenting change for a Canadian flavored cig or is it the blending of the American cig that gives it it distinct smell and flavor

Lakota

Founding Member
I don't think you will ever match your brands taste, but you will be able to make a good ( great) cigarette. Knowing what is in your smoke and dropping the cost is a bonus. If you want to try different tobaccos go to www.wholeleaftobacco.com or check with bigbonner. Just from blending different types of tobacco you can make a cigarette that will make you never want to have a " store bought" again.

ringanator

I do know that every Canadian cigarettes is made from the same Canadian virgina tobacco and is not mixed with any other types of tobacco just wondering about cureing and fermenting

Knucklehead

Founding Member
I do know that every Canadian cigarettes is made from the same Canadian virgina tobacco and is not mixed with any other types of tobacco just wondering about cureing and fermenting

Those Virginias (flue cure class) can be flue cured, sun cured, or air cured. The cigarette manufacturers flue cure theirs. There are some home built flue curing chambers that were recently built a year or two ago by members on the forum. Flue curing at home is a relatively new process and it's still a learning process here. Don't confuse the flue curing with kilning, which is a different process. Kilning just speed ages the leaf. Flue curing is a curing process. I have air cured and sun cured the flue cure types. Sun curing seems to fall in sweetness somewhere between flue curing and air curing.

BarG

Founding Member