Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

question on seed starting and getting something in the ground

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris m

Ok this is my first year grow . Now I have grown vegetables from seed for years from basic stuff to heirloom . I have started seed in there trays no grow lights or seed tray heaters . Thinking this was my problem and didn't start tobacco till April . Next year will be earlier so will have better luck . I did make mistakes this year and everyone does. No coffee grounds in your seed mix it will mold . So did I miss the memo about using grow lights . The seed really didn't do very well at all but they were all from good stock and they are doing well . What I did to start was seed two 6 pack trays one variety per cell. Next year fewer seeds per cell and thin out so next year one 6 pack per variety. So with the cells I pulled a few seedlings and planted them to paper cups with holes on the bottom . what I'm looking for is to find out what I did wrong so I can seed to ground with no problems. Because I would like to give back . Because of all the seed I got from the members of this group . Thanks Chris

DGBAMA

Chris,

I don't even transplant to cups anymore. I got enough 72cell trays for the number of plants I start and seed directly into each cell, approx 4-5 seeds. When they sprout, I thin a couple a week, leaving the strongest in each cell, until each has only one.

when the plants start to hang over eachother, they begin getting "haircuts" clip off about 2/3 of each leaf that hangs over an adjacent cell. about 2 weeks before planting, I quit the haircuts and let them grow a couple good leaves which will be with them at transplant.

I get the "moss green" on top of a lot of my cells, doesn't seem to hurt anything but indicates maybe a little too much moisture or could just be the starting soil.