Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

pipestone (catlinite) carving

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokin Harley

My wifes uncle and aunt co-own a small cabin in the Ojibwe tribe area of Wisconsin , not far from Hayward. They often go rock hunting and on their last trip they came back with a truck load of various rock and they let us come and pick some out for our yard as decoration. One rock in particular is a very attractive light reddish color and has a soft waxy like feel to it, like soapstone. I asked her uncle what it was and he said it is pipestone or catlinite... This is not small chunk of rock , this rock weighs about 10 pounds. As I read more about it the more I'd like to try my hand at making a pipe or few . I understand working it only requires a few simple woodworking hand tools . Im a carpenter by trade so I have plenty of those on hand.
Has anyone ever worked with catlinite?
I'd like any information or tips before I set out to make a nice presentation pipe and end up ruining 10 lbs of stone in the process.
I've never made a pipe in my life so I don't even know what size to make the hole to draw air from...or the bowl for that matter.
Thank you.

kullas

When I make my clay pipes about the largest I make the bowl is the size of my thumb and sometimes a little smaller I use my pointer finger. Most of the time I use the JLR method. Just looks right.

Planter

I prefer a 4mm (Knucklehead's 11/64") bore myself these days, and opened several of my 3mm pipes with convincing results. If you smoke shag/fine-cut/rolling tobacco in your pipe, that may not be the best choice, though.
20+mm bowl diameter is already what Savinelli calls "King Size" - esp. if your bowl comes out a bit higher a 3/4" (19mm) tobacco hole is probably a safe start.