Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Pipe Tobacco

Status
Not open for further replies.

pastorj

I am looking to grow some tobacco for pipe smoking purposes... I will probably be adding flavoring to make various aromatics.. What tobacco types would be best?

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
pastorj,
A good base tobacco for making aromatic blends is any one of the numerous Maryland varieties. They are generally low in nicotine, general strength and aroma, and tend to readily absorb whatever you add to them. You can season them with stronger tobaccos, such as burley. Flue-cured ("Virginia") tobacco adds some acidity. Just about any variety can be fire-cured (smoked in a home smoker of some sort), to add a smokiness to the blend.

Bob

pastorj

Bob,

I really appreciate the input, and noticed that you live near Blacksburg, VA.. I graduated college from Radford University and was in the area for about six years. How are things there in Hokie/Highlander territory?

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
pastorj said:
How are things there in Hokie/Highlander territory?
pastorj,
Weather is nice (after the horrid storms). Folks in BBurg and Radford are, as usual, focused mostly on things ethereal. I live down toward Riner, so I keep with less bipedal company.

Bob

Thunderhorse

Im so glad to find this near the top! it saves me starting a thread about it, as long as its ok for me to ask in this one lol
So would growing a virginia and then making a straight virginia toby be a good idea? Or would that just be recipe for bite? Im a fan of virginia blends but I havent found any straight virginias to try yet, although I know they are out there.... Ideas?

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
Thunderhorse,