Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Illinois Tobacco Growers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tman

I started this thread for all of us that are in Illinois to get to know each other. This is my first year to grow tobacco. I'm in central Ill. around Princton, Buda to be exact. I will be getting my seeds started this week I've got about 250 that i will try and start. My wife has rolled her eyes at me a few times..lol, but she is going along with it. I still haven't gotten my soil tested yet, but I guess I've got time for that. I would like to hear from the other Ill. members and how you are getting along.

Tim

prairiefarmer

Hello. I'm from Strasburg,Il. Which is about 40 miles southeast of Decatur. I got the exact same reaction from my wife!! I'm hoping my seeds show up in the mail sometime this week. I'll probably plant them as soon as they get here, and shoot for transplanting them outdoors around the first of May. Got the plot fertilized and tilled today, so I should be in good shape when the day comes.

jailhouse

hello im from mason county illinois i just got my seeds today going to get them planted in the morning i have 100 bursa seeds and 100 yellow twist bud seeds

BarG

Founding Member
hello im from mason county illinois i just got my seeds today going to get them planted in the morning i have 100 bursa seeds and 100 yellow twist bud seeds

Welcome to the free world jailhouse, What are you using to start your seeds?

toad

I will be using the sandy soil I have here in the yard that has some soft clay. also have already cleared out a stall of horse manure from about 8 months ago. and has already broke down for planting. believe the temps are ok here and rite timing to get started. wanting to start out with the burley.

toad

does that sound like a good choice? to start out with?

BarG

Founding Member
does that sound like a good choice? to start out with?