Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Virginia red vs bright cured

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokesAhoy

Founding Member
They're all mild flavors, red less so- it is a stronger flavored more aromatic leaf from what I assume is a higher maillard process, maybe even some caramelization of the sugars. I haven't found a better tasting fc leaf.

DGBAMA

I am not good at describing, but to me they have similar flavor profiles, with the red being 2x flavor/aroma. A favorite of mine.

SmokesAhoy

Founding Member
So, here is my favorite, granted it's not intricate nor imaginative but the flavor is out of this world, maybe try stuff a tube with it: 90% red leaf, 10% perique

Or the exact opposite, Knucklehead's recipe is listed somewhere here, it utilizes a wonderful array of tobaccos and looks to be delicious.

DGBAMA

I like the red but can be a bit over powering even with the burley so I am looking for another leaf to mix it with.

If you don't have an Oriental component, add some Izmir to the mix. Or substitute lemon flue cure for part of the Virginia red.

burge

The red is not as sweet almost like adding a bitter to liquor 5 leaves lemon and 1 leaf of red accents the flavour of the lemon. I find in creating that blend that resembles a taylor made export A. For those used to ryo export A its not the same its a much brighter leaf in the taylor made. Export A light is the ryo version. all the ryo vesrions in Canada do nto exist anymore.

Jabman

Thank you burge,I bought some lemon and so far it is my favorite. I mix about 80% Lemon to 10% Red and 10% Burly, it is a nice smoke. I just ordered some bright and Turkish Prilep last night and will try them in the mix or make a new one.

DonH

Thank you burge,I bought some lemon and so far it is my favorite. I mix about 80% Lemon to 10% Red and 10% Burly, it is a nice smoke. I just ordered some bright and Turkish Prilep last night and will try them in the mix or make a new one.