Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

First Time Growing Tobacco

Status
Not open for further replies.

AssyMcGee

This is my first time growing tobacco and my first post to this forum. I bought live tobacco plants from a vendor on Ebay. They were delivered June 11. I bought potting soil from a local nursery and potted them right away. They are about to go into 5 gallon buckets this weekend. Here are some pictures that I took a few minutes ago. Turkish Samsun are in the black pots.
20160708_194210_1468025053917.jpg 20160708_194325_1468025053665.jpg
As you can see there is a problem with the leaves on the bottoms turning yellow and falling off. I'm thinking it is a nutrient problem. I have not fertilized them yet. Can anybody give me some pointers on how to fix this issue? You can also see I have supports on 2 of them because a storm came through here a couple days ago with 50+ mph gusts. Almost all of them were blown down but these two failed to pop back up. Stalks were not broken. What a remarkably resilient plant!
Love & Light

ChinaVoodoo

Hey, welcome to the forum.

I'm guessing they came to you a little yellow and/or, they were yellow before putting them into potting soil. They are most likely yellow from lack of nutrients. By putting them in potting soil; however, you may have already fixed the problem. The yellow doesn't go away overnight and could take a month. Some leaves will make it, some won't. Some that make it, you might not want to smoke anyhow; half rotten and such. For those, it is better to pluck them off so they aren't an energy burden on the nice leaves or a route for disease. That would also give you the opportunity to bury it deeper with your next transplant.

Don't cheap out on soil. Make an organically nutrient rich mix for the five gallon pails.

SmokesAhoy

Founding Member
I'd spray those bad boys with miracle grow. Can grow tobacco on a concrete slab with miracle grow lol

BigBonner

Founding Member