Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

tobacco plant going to flower

Status
Not open for further replies.

ringanator

OK guys I have one tobacco Plant about 3 feet tall and noticed today the flower top already starting...I will top this plant. My question is there environmental factors that cause a plant to go into early flower. No other plant seem to have a flower bud yet. Also will this short plant grow taller after topping or just bulk up current leaves??

SmokesAhoy

Founding Member
They stretch and bulk usually. Dunno why they do that (flower while still a dwarf), could be stress, genes or combination.

I am not a scientist but selecting for wanted traits worked for the old times so I just follow their example and ensure nothing flowers that has traits I don't like, even if it wasn't genetics that caused it in the first place.

BigBonner

Founding Member
Could be the type of tobacco , Some flower shorter than others . Some tall ,some short .
It will grow taller before you have to top it . Then the leaves that are there will grow bigger . Tall does not equal better tobacco . I have hand short tobacco with bigger better leaves than my taller tobacco . The growing season has a big impact on leaf size and quality .
What type is it ?

ringanator

It a Canadian virgina seed from one of my largest plants last year. It weird because none of the other plants from the same seed is going into flower. The mother the seed came from was the only one I let flower and there are no other tobacco in the area for x pollination.

ChinaVoodoo

I think we're seeing odd behaviour because of the rain. Temperature fluctuations. Irregular daylight hours. Big shifts in temperature.

I've topped two Costello Negro plants, myself. However, I've chosen to let one high forming sucker grow on them, and they're already functioning as new stalks.

buck