Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Rolling for a buddy's wedding

Status
Not open for further replies.
So word got out that I started rolling cigars. And if you look at my post history and whatnot, you KNOW I'm SUCH a newcomer. Big time. I love rolling, it's been an absolute joy. I've learned so much from you all. And what I've learned is mostly that there is SO MUCH MORE I need to learn to start scratching the surface.

So. I'm finally a groomsmen at a wedding (I'm a wedding photographer, sooo yeah) and my buddy asked me to roll some cigars for people during the reception. Is there certain steps in the prep work I should consider to get things ready to try this out for an event? I know I'll need to probably get everything cut ahead of time and the right amount of hydration....which I still really don't know. Ha I still haven't quite seen a good beginning to end ordeal to say "okay, you got your leaves, do this for this long. Now cut. Now roll. Now smoke."

Any tips/advice is always humbly accepted. I'm sure it's out there, and I searched a lot. Even in these forums. There's so much content I'm at a loss to knowing where to look and trust. I have lots of leaves and stuff and even ordered more, just ready and willing to get after it.

Thanks so MUCH in advance!

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
Yikes! You've bitten off quite an assignment.

Non-cigar people at the event won't care. Cigar people will expect tobacconist quality impromptu rolling. If you can't wiggle out of this gracefully (http://cigarcatering.com/cigar-rollers-chicago/ ), then here's my rundown:

I'm going to assume that you have a chaveta. Be sure it's sharpened.
You'll need a tuck cutter or a large guillotine cigar cutter to trim the foot.
Prepare your cigar glue the night before, and store it in a closed jar.
Make sure you will have a table of a suitable height (and with enough working room for your materials) at the event and a suitable chair.