Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Smokeless is coming to New Zealand

Status
Not open for further replies.

KiwiGrown

Sometime this year after a 28 year ban on the sale of any tobacco product for oral use except smoking, New Zealand will allow with approval (Company proves there product is less harmful then smoking) the sale of smokeless tobacco products.

I've never tried a smokeless tobacco before, I smoke a pipe at home but at work I use a e-cigarette for a nic hit.

The problem with the e-cigarette is I don't get along with all these little girl flavours or horrible fake tobacco flavours they seem to make, to make things worse it never really seems quite satisfying and it gives me a headache.

I've grown some rustica this year I suspect won't make it into my pipe blends, I'll also have a bunch of unused mid ribs from my virginia and burley.

What I was considering is making some sort of smokeless for discreet use at work, I really don't want to spit all day long or have a big lump sitting in the side of my mouth.

So this sort of leaves me with Snus or Snuff, I've done a few crude trials of both, taking some dried crumbs of a pipe blend I enjoy I grind it with my fingers into a powder and sniff it.

Honestly not bad, I enjoy the sort of eye opening hit it gives me almost like a instant cup of coffee, problem is the hit doesn't last me long enough before I want another and at work not sure how I would go about discreetly sniffing.

Next trail I take lump of baccy roll it into a slug and place it in my upper lip, looks discreet in the mirror, I can talk normally and I like the taste even if it's mild and no nic hit, I imagine with proper cooking it would taste great and release more nic.

So I'm thinking of cooking a batch of Snus using the rustica and mid ribs from my other baccy.

My questions are do I have to ferment the tobacco before making snus from it ? Will it affect the taste ?