Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Recomend strains for cigars

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dr.Pierce

Like the total noob, I posted my cigar strain question in the wrong place. While Im sure the mods will send it along to where it is supposed to be- i will post a short version of my question.

I want to grow strains to build a nice cigar- on the milder side.
Strains in the lineup - this spring: Cuban Crillo, Florida Sumatra, and Connecticut Shade for a wrapper.

does that sound like im on the right track? Any other suggestions?

Thanks

mwaller

I think you will have plenty of fun growing the stains you mentioned, and all are low to medium in strength. You might have a look at some of the numbered "Havana" types. They seem to be popular, though I don't have much personal experience with them.

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
Welcome to the forum. I've grown both FL Sumatra and CT Shade in full sun. The FL Sumatra still produces very nice wrappers, whereas the CT Shade was not much of a success. If you have thoughts of building a shade structure (30%-40% shade), then expect nice things with the CT Shade, but be prepared to wire each stalk from the top of the 10'+ high structure, for support.

The FL Sumatra upper stalk positions can kiln into a deep maduro, nearly oscuro leaf, which may make dark wrappers for smaller cigars, and can be used as a rich, relatively mild filler condiment.

The Criollo can make nice wrappers, and makes excellent filler. You may want to consider adding a highly productive, milder filler variety as well, such as Long Red, PA Red, Little Dutch or Dutch (Ohio). Scan the wide selection of varieties offered by Northwood Seeds: http://northwoodseeds.com/Seed List2.htm

Look into constructing a kiln (which will not be needed until after both harvest and color-curing) by autumn.

Bookmark this Index of Key Forum Threads: http://fairtradetobacco.com/threads/3868-Key-threads-in-the-FTT-forum

Happy growing.

Bob