Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Josias

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josias

Gooday to all from oz I have been growing tobacco in my suburban garden for the last 6 years
last season grew 160 plants the problem I have is that once the seeds have germinated (3to7days)
they take 3 months or more to grow to a size 100mm so that I can plant them out the leaves are fine but the stem weak the root structure questionable eventually they come right and grow to
1.5m and bigger . any advise suggestions is appreciated thanks

Jitterbugdude

Founding Member
Welcome!
Your plants should be ready 6 to 8 weeks after you've seeded them. At that point they should be big and beefy. I'd suggest a small amount of fertilizer and to make sure they are getting plenty of sun (or a grow light). Don't forget too that you can trim the leaves as they start to get big. This will allow more airflow and sun to reach them. It will also make them more stout (as in thicker stems).

Alpine

Maybe you are "babying" them too much, like i did... Once planted in the garden, my plants grew 10 cm in a week, while they grew only 3 cm in two months while in pots at home! Be brave and plant them out as soon as the risk of frost have passed, tobacco is a sturdy plant and will survive and grow amazingly. Of course, it grows big and healthy only if it has enough "to eat". A good fertilizer is a necessity, as well as full sun and light, and i noticed that a few inches deeper digging before transplant makes wonders on the size of the plant.

Pier

ArizonaDave