• Dear Guest,

We've been using a forum format called vBulletin for over seven years and the program is no longer being developed, so that means no more updates or security patches. vBulletin has never been compatible with search engine optimization and it does not support the multitude of various devices most people use to access the internet, so it's time to say goodbye to vBulletin.

For these reasons we have moved our forum to a new format that will support and encourage growth for the next generation of grower and DIY tobacco users.

So please post any issues you're having with using the new site.

As usual, you may login with your old password.

Whole Leaf Tobacco

nicotine level

Every one is looking for there level in there own plants, every one is saying its not possible to get an measurement of nic level.
I am not a scientist, but I think I now how to do it.
A long time ago when i was at school, they where saying that nicotine was solvable in pure alcohol.
If I remember it correctly.
…..
I dont mean beer whisky aquafit vodka or what so ever, but isopropanol, propanol, butanol, glyserol, methanol and ethanol.(xylene?)
Word of advice...Don't be stupid, the only drinkable alcohol is ethanol!!!!
…..
From all the diverend alcohols, was methanol and ethanol used to dissolve the nicotine.
Trouble is I don't have any pure methanol left at the moment.
To make moonshine right now...not enough time, sorry, but..
Next week we are going to vacation where they sell 90% vodka, that's Ethanol.
….
We take, lets say, 25cc alcohol and 10 grams of leaves(blended)
Let it soke for 24 hours, filter it thru a coffee filter.
Then drop the liquid on to a refractometer, I think the one for salinity is best.
….
To calibrate the refractometer, I think you will have to get several species to get an good understanding of what you will see.
And write down on how many ppm it tested on.
Or make a color chard and compare the colors.
….
But there was also something with ph