Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Hard Time interpreting Virginia Law on Tobacco production and sales

Status
Not open for further replies.

JamesVa

I am looking into potentially starting a small-scale tobacco farm. My plan would be to grow the tobacco on my land, cure it, process it, and then bag it with the intention of selling it as cigarette tobacco by the pound. Where I am running into confusion are the laws on private sales of tobacco in Virginia. As I understand, you can sell it if you log your sales and pay a tax on every certain number of ounces of tobacco sold. This seems quite time consuming with the constant logging of sales. If anyone has a definitive answer and explanation on the legality of tobacco sales in Virginia I would greatly appreciate it.

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
I am not a lawyer.

Growing tobacco in Virginia has no legal restrictions. Curing the tobacco in Virginia has no legal restrictions. With the central vein still in the leaf (that is, "whole leaf"), you can sell it as an agricultural commodity wholesale. To "process" tobacco and sell it requires a federal permit. I don't know what additional restrictions and requirements for processing and selling tobacco the Commonwealth of Virginia may add, aside from sales tax.

Small-scale flue-curing is likely to be challenging from a profit perspective. Most small Virginia bright leaf tobacco growers (from generations of tobacco growers) have gone out of business, mostly as a result of importation of less expensive leaf from abroad.

If you are serious about starting such a business, you should consult an attorney regarding the legal requirements, and probably an accountant to review your business plan.

Bob

burge

I think you have consulted someone and if they told you pound for pound records that is what it is. The leaf has to be exceptional quality, there needs to be a buyer lined up and it takes a year to get a leaf ready before it can be smoked.

SmokesAhoy