Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Harvesting turkish/oriental tobacco

Status
Not open for further replies.

chillardbee

Chilliwack BC, Canada (south western Canada)
We all know that these tobaccos are generally sun cured and FTT has a lot of info on that, the set ups and methods for sun curing. However, there is not to much on the harvesting of the leaf.

So I'm asking the question, What is the proper maturity/ripeness to harvest? What colour are the leaves at harvest? Will priming leaves green or yellow make a difference in the final cured colour and will it make a difference in nicotine content? Do different varieties of Turkish/Oriental have different harvesting times (leaf green or yellow when primed)?

This is my first year with orientals and all of you who have experience in this I would welcome your experience and knowledge. Thank you.

Will.

PS: I'm certian I've not asked all the questions i wanted to so I'll probably post more.

leverhead

Knucklehead

Founding Member
I had good luck sun curing the small leaves inside bud bags last year. I got them to yellow inside the shop, then moved them to the sun. Just stack the leaf inside the bag and flip the bag over once a day. Every two or three days restack the stack inside out. No stringing of the tiny leaves.

chillardbee

Chilliwack BC, Canada (south western Canada)
That was a great link, thank you.

Now, what would be the minumum amount of daylight hours per day that you'd need to sun cure?

I also noticed in that diagram that there were different colored leaf for the end result, does that change the flavour of the baccy?

istanbulin

Founding Member