Whole Leaf Tobacco

Help: Aphids (natural remedy prefer.)

I have tried to use the search function and will admit there is much discussed.
Leaning towards dish soap and water but want some real first hand experience as we all know I will be “trying” to smoke it!

(I know my plants are small, it is my first year!)

the varieties are Havana and Corojo.

Thanks!01151DA9-9BE4-42B6-A246-52A7877542C3.jpeg

Attachments

Knucklehead

Founding Member
How many plants do you have? If just a few the soapy water will semi-work. If you still have aphids at harvest time you can hose off the aphids prior to harvest or immediately after while the leaves are still fresh (from the field to the water hose). Don‘t hose them off after cure, it will wash away some flavor and nicotine. If you go big next year, I would put this stuff in the transplant water.

Last edited:

Radagast

I have yarrow growing in the adjacent garden to where some of my tobacco is. The yarrow was completely covered in aphids for about 3 weeks but not one on the tobacco.. so maybe of there was something they liked a bunch more (like yarrow) you could offer them that, maybe get some in a pot and stick it very near your tobacco until they may move off. That would be natural.. Once I found a ladybug somewhere else in the yard I put it on the aphid infested yarrow and it immediately pounced on an aphid like a magnet. It remained there for the duration, until neither aphid nor ladybug were detected, about a week. During that week they went down hard but I don't know for sure if the ladybug wiped them out or they ran their course or both. Long story short, my natural tobacco aphid remedy this year was yarrow and ladybugs. I thought I had a picture but I guess I don't, sorry. Incidentally, the yarrow didn't seem to suffer much, if at all..

Radagast