Whole Leaf Tobacco

Oldfella's kiln build

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
Decided to put this here to unclutter my grow blog.

Gunna build a kiln.
Got a shed.

IMG_20200628_120819_1~2.jpg
The shed was going to be a smoker for fish but that plan fell over, a kilning shed it will be.
Got some controllers.
IMG_20200718_144632~2.jpg
You can never have too many. In my last job I always had 3 pressure guages.

Got a fan blower blaster thingy.
IMG_20200718_144753~2.jpg

That's all for now I will put up some more tomorrow.
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
That fan looks like it could launch your kiln into low Earth orbit. You may want to consider adding a fan speed controller to the mix.

Bob
Ha ha it's variable speed. Zero to hard out. It's out of heater that I stripped for parts back in the day. I thought I might put it on full blast and pressure test the kiln, but, then again maybe not. Thanks for the pointer anyway it's something that if found at recycle place by someone who didn't know they could wreck their kiln and be very upset.
Oldfella
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
Ha ha it's variable speed. Zero to hard out. It's out of heater that I stripped for parts back in the day. I thought I might put it on full blast and pressure test the kiln, but, then again maybe not. Thanks for the pointer anyway it's something that if found at recycle place by someone who didn't know they could wreck their kiln and be very upset.
Oldfella
Here you go Bob, should do the trick.
IMG_20200719_073435.jpg
If it doesn't I can alter things to do the job.
 

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
16,460
Points
113
Location
near Blacksburg, VA
My power occasionally blinks off (or goes out for several hours). Fortunately, the digital controller on my kiln uses some sort of non-volatile memory. So it just resumes whenever the power comes back on. The same is true for my kiln's fan, which uses a physical rheostat. The box fan in my shed uses a physical switch, so it resumes as well. The newer, temp controlled window fan in the shed uses a clever, digital power switch, and its temp setting is only as good as the continuous power. When that window fan experiences a power loss (even for 1 second), it just stops, and sits there, useless, until I go out and pat it on the hand.

I see what appears to be a physical, toggle switch for your fan controller's main power, and a rotating, physical dial for the fan speed. So that looks perfect. Your digital controllers for the heat appear quite similar to mine, but their settings memory is something you might want check, to know if you need to scramble after a power loss (if such events even happen in NZ).

Bob
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
My power occasionally blinks off (or goes out for several hours). Fortunately, the digital controller on my kiln uses some sort of non-volatile memory. So it just resumes whenever the power comes back on. The same is true for my kiln's fan, which uses a physical rheostat. The box fan in my shed uses a physical switch, so it resumes as well. The newer, temp controlled window fan in the shed uses a clever, digital power switch, and its temp setting is only as good as the continuous power. When that window fan experiences a power loss (even for 1 second), it just stops, and sits there, useless, until I go out and pat it on the hand.

I see what appears to be a physical, toggle switch for your fan controller's main power, and a rotating, physical dial for the fan speed. So that looks perfect. Your digital controllers for the heat appear quite similar to mine, but their settings memory is something you might want check, to know if you need to scramble after a power loss (if such events even happen in NZ).

Bob
Thanks Bob. That's one thing I never thought about. I just checked by switching them off. And behold they all just carried on as if nothing had happened. Just a potty break. I'm not concerned about the fan it can be done to make it stay on, the switch in the pic is only one that I have, I have others. It's all good fun anyway.
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
Edit: The toggle switch switches a light not the fan. Fan is on rotory dial.
OK. Now let's see.
IMG_20200719_134832~2.jpg
Oh yeah that's right the motor is stuffed, that's how I got it had to replace it. Don't know if you guys have the same hassle we have, no parts available for that model. I'll have to put head in bits bin and see what I can find. There will be something, old bike, crank handle, whatever.
00001IMG_00001_BURST20180519101056.jpg
Yeah that's what I need, just drive off whichever wheel spins.
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
I used a bathroom exhaust fan and used a fan control switch. Don’t use a dimmer switch made for lighting as that can be a fire hazard. Here is an example for $13 usd. You could salvage and use the switch you already have.

Bathroom exhaust fan
Thanks mate I used to repair gas appliances at my shop. At one point I had 10 guys working for me. Not trying to be a smart-a##*, all input from you guys is most valuable. As we get older it seems to be that we forget more than we knew. Reminders are good. The s/w in the pic is a 3 speed fan controller with a toggle for a light that is often in some of the ceiling fans. The motor I have in the pic I'm not going to try and make it work. Just playing around at the moment. I am having a little trouble though. Do I suck from the bottom to the top or is the top to the bottom better? Any input from you guys on this one would be great. Thanks.
Gunna build a kiln.
 

Knucklehead

Moderator
Founding Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2012
Messages
9,599
Points
113
Location
NE Alabama
I think the main thing is that it circulates. My fan is just positioned to direct air around the perimeter to avoid blowing directly on the leaf. As long as there is circulation, the probe should be more accurate and the heavier air cannot pool at the bottom of the kiln, and the hot, humid air will be evenly distributed.

A photo showing the inside of my kiln.
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
I think the main thing is that it circulates. My fan is just positioned to direct air around the perimeter to avoid blowing directly on the leaf. As long as there is circulation, the probe should be more accurate and the heavier air cannot pool at the bottom of the kiln, and the hot, humid air will be evenly distributed.

A photo showing the inside of my kiln.
So if I can take the warm, moist air from the bottom, carry it to the top and sort of let spill back down as evenly as possible it should work. I haven't even got the box built yet. Every time I try to get that done it rains which can make playing with power tools fun, nevermind it will happen in due course. In the meantime I will have fun with fans and heaters and stuff. I'm sure I got an old pedistant fan somewhere, motor anyway. If I can do this right I won't have the electrics on the inside, we will see.
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
Gunna build a kiln.
IMG_20200720_123345~2.jpg
Gunna be half the shed as kiln, the other half is the packing area. I'll try and get some Measurements tomorrow, that'll give me the size and then I can work out the leaf capacity, maybe.
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
Now, let's see. Got a shed, got it lined with builders paper to stop condensation. Sorting a fan, blower, blaster thingy.
IMG_20200721_094040~2.jpg
Yep that'll work. Can plenty of air round it for cooling.
 

ChinaVoodoo

Moderator
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
4,915
Points
113
Location
Edmonton, AB, CA
That's pretty big, i think. How big is it? I don't think it can be too big if it's insulated well. Remind me how much tobacco you're growing? Eyeballing it, this looks like it will be a decent flue curing shed.
 

Oldfella

Oldfella
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
363
Points
93
Location
Far North New Zealand
That's pretty big, i think. How big is it? I don't think it can be too big if it's insulated well. Remind me how much tobacco you're growing? Eyeballing it, this looks like it will be a decent flue curing shed.
I'm not sure how big is but I'm gonna measure it tomorrow, I was going to do that today but I was out most of the day and didn't get a chance. I normally grow around 100 plants and get two crops a season. It is quite big but after the fridge kiln I had I figured it was better too big than just too small. I'll post the dimensions tomorrow.
 
Top