Whole Leaf Tobacco

Traveling Piper Grow Log 2019

Traveling Piper

Well, here we go.
Hopefully this will go well. I know there's bound to be slips, trips and mishaps along the way. I will make mistakes--this is my first time growing tobacco.

There are 8 varieties on this summer's roster:
Yellow Twist Bud Tobacco - Burley Type
Del Gold - Flue Cure Type
Cherry Red 401 - Flue Cure Type
Herzegovina Flor - Oriental
Prilep P66-9/7 - Oriental
Duzce - Oriental
Havana 608 - Cigar Type
Little Dutch - Cigar Type

I'm germinating in small Rubbermaid containers with a thin layer of fine moist vermiculite. I feel like my process is explained through the pictures.

IMG_0496.jpg
IMG_0499.jpg IMG_0502.jpg IMG_0504.jpg IMG_0505.jpg

NOTE: I was especially careful to clean and sterilize the counter between seed applications so as to not cross contaminate pathogens or seeds. Rest assured that all varieties were marked accordingly once sown.
The containers are sitting in the kitchen windowsill. It is south facing and predominantly shaded with the exception of some intermittent light throughout the day. I will keep a check on them to be sure they don't get too hot--I don't think they will.
I merely want to sprout them for transfer to seedling trays.
That's about all I've got for now.
I will try to get some pictures of my planting area posted soon.

Traveling Piper

Nice start. You may wish to also add an identifying label to the seed containers, in addition to the labels on their lids.

Bob
Good thought there, Bob. I'll do that.
As for the pictures--I'll post them as thumbnails henceforth. The full size inserted pictures are slightly obnoxious.

Well, here we go.
Hopefully this will go well. I know there's bound to be slips, trips and mishaps along the way. I will make mistakes--this is my first time growing tobacco.

There are 8 varieties on this summer's roster:
Yellow Twist Bud Tobacco - Burley Type
Del Gold - Flue Cure Type
Cherry Red 401 - Flue Cure Type