Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

storage of tobacco during the cold winter

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokeStack

This year I was intending to store my tobacco from this year's crop hanging in a small barn over the winter. I am not sure what would happen to the air-cured tobacco by being exposed to freezing temperatures over the course of a south Michigan winter. I posted this thread here because this topic may involve a bit of science. I am a chemist but not a biochemist or a biologist, so my expertise is limited. I am aware that tobacco exposed to high temperatures (flue-curing and fire-curing) can destroy enzymes that play an important role in the aging of tobaccos. However, what are the effects of freezing temperatures on tobacco? Am I safe to leave my tobacco hanging in the barn over the winter?:confused:

SmokesAhoy

Founding Member
Dead leaf is fine, fresh will look like boiled spinach and never change after that.

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
Yes. Once the lamina are brown, it can freeze and thaw all it wants. If it gets humid, and over 60ºF, then it will age a bit.

I have leaf that hangs in the shed through the winter. No problems, other than watching for mold during the warm, moist spells.

Bob

janetta007

That's how the Amish store their tobacco over winter. I saw it on Amish Mafia. Those barns are full of tobacco.

SmokeStack

Well, that's a relief. I have been storing my tobacco in large plastic storage bins, but now I have these bins have been accumulating and taking too much space.