Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

How I roll a Figurado: @GrowleyMonster

GrowleyMonster

Creator of the Imperfecto
Any secrets to getting that nice shape?

Keep in mind that I am a beginner at this. More experienced guys have more refined methods, and most prefer to roll parejos, or straight sided cigars, rather than figurados, which are basically any other shape besides a cylinder.

For the bunched filler, to me the perfecto shape is a natural one. Just accentuate the center bulge and the end tapers. When you tear off the ends of the leaves that are too long, put some blunt end inward, blunt ends overlapping. The normal way is to tear off excess leaf and put the off bits on the bunch with the blunt ends out, to fill up the ends and make a nice cylinder of the bunch. I am doing the opposite, building up the middle at the expense of filling out the ends. I use a DIY rolling machine to apply the binder and it will of course be loose at the ends but still help keep the filler bunch together. I sometimes hand roll a second binder to lock in the shape, and of course hand roll the wrapper.

It should be obvious that when rolling a taper, the narrow tip rolls up less wrapper than the wider part. So, the bunch, when hand rolling the tapered end, will naturally roll in a curve. The wide part travels further per revolution than the narrow part. So the binder and wrapper, or just wrapper, must also be cut into an S curve. I have seen this in videos, which is where I got the idea, and I will make a video once I have a little more experience. Meanwhile just do a search on youtube for rolling perfectos, pyramides, trompetas, or figurados in general. This forum has an extensive library of videos and I am sure you will find something there.