Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

dubhelix's 2014 grow blog

Status
Not open for further replies.

dubhelix

This is my first year growing, and my first year gardening in central Virginia. I have acquired seed for the following varieties, with the goal of producing snus and pipe tobacco, and perhaps a few cigars.

Madole
Small Stalk Black Mammoth
Shirey
Bolivian Criollo Black
Wisconsin 901
Yellow Oronoko
Long Red
Aztec Rustica
Izmir Ozbis
Perique ( thanks Hasse!)
A-Hus (thanks Hasse!)

Perhaps I should include a good burley, as I don't think any of the above are burley (perhaps the Bolivian Criollo?). All I know about these varieties is what the seed companies had to say, plus what I've read on this forum. Special thanks to the jojjas and Hasse for advice and seeds!

I am starting 50 cells per week, the first set was Madole, planted on 2.9.14. Probably too early, but I'm eager. I'm hoping the extra deep planting trays and a "haircut" will hold the plants until my estimated planting date of 4.15.14. The seed I got from Skychaser is strong. I guess this week I'll find some tiny scissors and thin them out. Looks like I missed a cell. Oops.
photo-7.jpg

The seeds are started in SureRoots cell trays, which are very deep. I think they are designed for tree starts.
photo-14.jpg
I am using a 50/50 mix of peat moss and vermiculite, with a
4mm top layer of straight peat moss on top. The cells sit in 1020's, with a half inch of water in the bottom. The trays are under six 32w / 6500K T-8 fixtures. If I run out of room under the T-8's, I have a 150w HPS I could use, but it's annoying to be near. I used a soda straw cut with scissors at a sharp angle to scoop seeds from the packages and deposit them into the divots in the peat moss, it worked well.
On 2.16.14 I planted 25 cells of Yellow Oronoko and 25 of Shirey.

I have a couple of options regarding where to plant, each with some drawbacks.