Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Commercial blends worth trying?

OakBayou

I'm new to pipe smoking but already enjoying it immensely. I've made up a half dozen blends using Bob's recipes here (Pearl of Shibam, Spanish Moss, Skree, Marudnik, American Cream, Vizier), and so far enjoy them all--but they were shredded thin using a budget shredder, so I still wonder if maybe I'm missing out on flavors more apparent with a better pipe shred, or pressing into kakes or plugs.

Anyway, I've never smoked any commercial pipe tobaccos. I know some of you might suggest I keep it this way, but I'm wondering if there are any commercial blends that are good touchstones or absolute favorites that folks would suggest I try? Open to all suggestions, including those that would just say "stick to WL, guy."

I'm also planning on putting together a restored pipe and some pipe tobacco as a special gift for my father for Xmas, to help encourage him to move off the "pipe-flavored" cigars he's smoked for years into a real pipe. He liked cherry flavored cigars before those disappeared, and now he smokes black and milds (blegh). So I'm thinking of trying some aromatics to test out what's there and see if there's a higher quality blend he might enjoy (thinking Lane Very Cherry, Cult Blood Moon, even Cap. Black Cherry would be a step up for him), and whether it's something I might try my own spin on in the future when I have time to try out cavendishing and sauces on whole leaf.

Thanks!

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
Difficult question. So far as I can determine, all commercial blends now contain various humectants, which do not enhance the experience. Do have a look at the many offerings from Cornell & Diehl—some English style; some aromatics: