Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Knucklehead's 2022 Prilep and Veggie Container Grow Blog

Knucklehead

Founding Member
Projected last frost date April 22.

My projected seedling start date was supposed to be Feb. 22 but I'm running a little late. I can't lift more than five lbs. with my right arm for a couple weeks due to heart cath and two stints so I'm kicking back trying to learn how to play slide guitar. I feel better than I have in years so laying around is driving me nuts. I'm hoping I can get seed in for the tobacco, tomato, and beans this weekend. Corn and okra seed will be started March 22. Squash and the Knucklehead pumpkin seed that deluxestogie send to me from Johnny's Seed will be started April 4. Keeping my fingers crossed. This will be a total container grow and I've never done that before. One and three gallon grow bags. All seed will be started in 1020 cells under light then moved to outside. Wish me luck!

Varieties
Prilep P66-9/7
Silver Queen corn
Clemson Spineless Okra
Big Boy tomato
Better Boy tomato
Rutgers tomato
Early Summer Crookneck yellow squash
Knucklehead pumpkin
Stringless Green Pod bush beans
Kentucky Blue pole beans

Will use the "three sisters" Native American method with the corn, beans and squash. Hope that works with containers?

The Knucklehead pumpkin photo. I wonder what Bob was trying to say?

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member
Will use the "three sisters" Native American method with the corn, beans and squash. Hope that works with containers?
Fully grown corn will tip the container over in a gusty wind. I would be inclined to closely surround the "3-sister"-containers with those of lower profile plants. Or you could stake the "3-sister" containers.

The Knucklehead pumpkin container is guaranteed not to blow over.

Bob

new boy

Projected last frost date April 22.