Buy Tobacco Leaf Online | Whole Leaf Tobacco

Need some Help with Specific Questions on Tobacco Seed Collection.

Durins Rest

Hey Everyone!

So i have a couple questions about seed harvest. These are coming from a complete novice this being my first year growing so if they are dumb ignore me lol.

1. So i only planted 1 type of burley on my land { roughly 11 acres} but i did not use the white bags i see people using to prevent cross pollination. Does this only affect tobacco when other strains are planted nearby? OR can other plants affect the seeds???

2. So some of my plants have their pods drying but other pods on the same plant are very green. Is this normal?

3. Can you artificially dry out the seed pods or is it best for them to dry out on the plant? Can i top them and hang them to dry or use a dehydrator or will this ruin or mess up seed production?

Thanks again Im sure ill have alot more questions but these are the pressing ones right now since I have so many plants that are flowered that I want to harvest seeds.

ariev

1. Other plants of the same strain will affect the seeds, ideally you want the seeds to be as inbred as possible to maintain uniformity. Getting cross-pollination from nearby plants of the same strain will still give you very variable seeds compared to an inbred plant

2. This is absolutely normal and nothing to worry about

3. I would let them dry naturally to guarantee higher germination levels

deluxestogie

Administrator
Staff member